LOUISVILLE, Ky. — Twenty-five outstanding softball players are in the mix for 2017 Schutt Sports/NFCA Division III National Player of the Year honors.

Four student-athletes remain from the initial list of 50 released on March 10 — Virginia Wesleyan junior Cassetty Howerin, Averett senior Jessica Long, East Texas Baptist senior Jayme Perez and St. John Fisher junior Lindsey Thayer. They have been joined by 21 newcomers.

Defending national champion Texas-Tyler and current No. 1 team Virginia Wesleyan each have three players on the new list. East Texas Baptist, Moravian and St. John Fisher, meanwhile, rank second with two players apiece, while 13 others had one player selected.

There are seven seniors, 12 juniors, four sophomores and two freshmen in the group. The list has been adjusted as it has been reduced, to assure the best players in the nation this season are being considered. The eventual winner will come from this group of 25.

Four 2016 NFCA All-Americans are on the list — two first-team and two third-team honorees. Of the remaining 21 members of the group, nine earned NFCA All-Region recognition last season.

The list is a collaborative effort between the NFCA’s Division III Head Coaches and All-America committees. The 10 finalists will be named next month and the winner will be revealed following the conclusion of the season.

To view and download the full list, please click HERE.

Keep Your Coaching Pitch Perfect.

bownet, nfca partner, nfca cell wade, nfca partner, nfca maxpreps, max preps, nfca partner, nfca

For Those Who Know Even
Days Off Are Days On.

Learn About The Perks And Join NFCA Today.

Benefits Join Today