facebook-button twitter_button youtube_button





Softball Coaching Bible


Pocket Radar Camp Page Ad

2006 NFCA Convention Comes to Close

The 2006 NFCA National Convention concluded its run Saturday afternoon at the J.W. Marriott Starr Pass Resort in Tucson, Ariz. 

The highlight of the final day was the closing business meeting. With a quorum for the meeting established, six proposals were brought to the floor but none of the six were moved. 

During the closing meeting, coaches enrolled in the National Fastpitch Coaches College were recognized for earning one-star through four-star status. 

A night removed from inducting Clyde Washburne, Sue Enquist and Carol Hutchins into the NFCA Hall of Fame, the contingent learned that Judy Groff of American International College, Henry Christowski from Simpson College and George Wares of Central College will be the Hall of Fame’s Class of 2007 while NCAA Secretary Rules Editor Dee Abrahamson will be presented the NFCA Service Award for her contributions to fastpitch softball. 

Following the adidas Roundtable Lunch that included presentations from Sue Enquist and Olympians Tairia Mims Flowers and Jessica Mendoza, presentations from Arizona head coach Mike Candrea, Mt. San Antonio College head coach Kelly Ford and Stacy Iveson of Pima Community College rounded out the convention activities. 

The 2007 NFCA National Convention will return to Las Vegas, taking place Nov. 28-Dec. 1 at the Las Vegas Hilton. The Las Vegas Hilton played host to the event in 2005 and drew a record turnout.