facebook-button twitter_button youtube_button





Fastpitch TV


JUGS Sports

NPF Announces 2005 Senior College Player Selections

The NPF officially announced today that the league will head into the 2005 season with six teams consisting of the Akron Racers, Arizona Heat, Chicago Bandits, New England Riptide, NY/NJ Juggernaut, and Texas Thunder. The California Sunbirds will remain a part of the league but is suspending play for 2005 while working this year to restructure with plans to field a team again in 2006 along with additional teams in other potential markets. 

The six NPF teams picked their 2005 Senior College Player Selections this evening. 
Due to NCAA regulations, an active college senior-athlete may not sign with her respective franchise until their 2005 college season is finished. Senior selection rights expire July 15, 2005. 

The following is a list of college players in order of selection: 

1st Round: 
Chicago Bandits, Amy Harre, P, Southern Illinois University 
Arizona Heat, Jackie Coburn, C/3B, University of Arizona 
New England Riptide, Jessica Merchant, SS, University of Michigan 
NY/NJ Juggernaut, Heather Scaglione, C, University of Oklahoma 
Akron Racers, Jamie Southern, P, Fresno State 
Texas Thunder, Kristen Rivera, C, University of Washington 

2nd Round: 
Chicago Bandits, Megan Ciolli, OF, Notre Dame, 
Arizona Heat, pass 
New England Riptide, Ashley Courtney, OF/C, University of Alabama 
NY/NJ Juggernaut, Jessica Sallinger, P, Georgia Tech 
Akron Racers, Kami Keiter, P, University of Oklahoma 
Texas Thunder, Brooke Mitchell, P, Louisiana-Lafayette 

3rd Round: 
Chicago Bandits, Christina Enea, 1B, University of Oklahoma, 
Arizona Heat, pass 
New England Riptide, Kim Wendland, IF, University of Georgia 
NY/NJ Juggernaut, Kaleo Eldredge, OF, Cal Berkley 
Akron Racers, Ani Nyhus, P, University of Oregon 
Texas Thunder, Adrian Gregory, SS, Texas A&M 

4th Round: 
Chicago Bandits, Anne Steffan, IF, University of Nebraska 
Arizona Heat, pass 
New England Riptide, Stephanie Best, SS, University of Central Florida 
NY/NJ Juggernaut, Chelsea Spencer, SS, Cal Berkley 
Akron Racers, Oli Keohohou, IF, Long Beach State 
Texas Thunder, Nicole Robinson, C, Texas A&M 

The 2005 NPF season will run from June 2nd through August 28th and will consist of a 48-game regular season schedule for each team, an all-star game, play-offs and Championship Series. NPF continues to be the Official Development Partner of Major League Baseball and has recently developed a new alliance with ASA/USA Softball and the International Softball Federation (ISF). This alliance will help promote international play by inviting teams from China, China Taipei, Japan, Canada, Puerto Rico, Australia and Venezuela to play against NPF teams. A finalized schedule will be released in March.