facebook-button twitter_button youtube_button





Schutt Sports Home Page


Mizuno Interior

Gear Up for 2004 Collegiate Softball Championships

 NCAA Division I

Date: May 27-31, 2004
Location: ASA Hall of Fame Stadium; Oklahoma City, Okla.
Format: The Division I championship provides for a field of 64 teams. Eight teams will compete in eight regionals. Regional sites will be announced when the field is announced. Each regional will be a double-elimination tournament with the eight regional winners advancing to the Women’s College World Series.
Twenty-six conference champions will receive automatic berths.
On the Web: www.okcallsports.org | www.ncaasports.com

NCAA Division II
Date: May 13-16, 2004
Location: Seminole County Softball Complex, Altomonte Springs, Fla.
Format: Eight teams will be seeded. The eight teams will be winners of regional tournaments. Six teams participate in each regional at a determined site. Each regional, as well as the national tournament, is double-elimination.
On the Web: www.orlandosports.org | www.ncaasports.com

NCAA Division III
Date: May 14-18, 2004
Location: James I Moyer Sports Complex; Salem, Va.
Format: The Division III championship features a field of 43 teams. Five teams will compete at five, first-round sites; six teams will compete at three, first-round sites. All first rounds will use a double-elmination format. After the selected teams are assigned to the first-round sites, each site will then be assisgned a seed (one through eight) based on the highest ranked teams at that site. This will determine placement in the finals bracket. The finals will be an eight-team, double-elimination tournament.
On the Web: www.ncaasports.com

When: May 21-26, 2004
Where: Wilson Morgan Softball Complex; Decatur, Alabama
Championship Structure: Twenty teams will be seeded. Fourteen will be winners of regional tournaments. At-large selections will be made, with the top five teams in the final ratings that are not regional winners getting those bids. Athens State receives an automatic bid for being the host institution. The format will be double elimination.
On the Web: www.naia.org

Cal JC
Date: May 15-16, 2004
Location: Riverside Community College, Riverside, Calif.
Format: Top 16 teams in both the North and South regions advance to regional play beginning on May 5th. Eight winners from regional play will advance to second round play on May 8-9th at two designated sites for each region. The four remaining teams in each region face off with No. 1 vs. No. 4 and No. 2 vs. No. 3. The two regional winners then advance to the state tournament in Riverside. The state tournament format will be setup like the final day of regional action.
On the Web: www.coasports.com

NJCAA Division I
When: May 20-22
Where: Hancock Park Softball Complex; Clermont, Fla.
Championship Structure: The champions of NJCAA Regions and the champions of NJCAA Districts qualify for the NJCAA Division I National Fastpitch Softball Tournament. 
This 16-team national tournament features a double-elimination format.
On the Web: www.njcaad1sbchamp.com

NJCAA Division II
When: May 20-22
Where: Rogers Park Sports Complex; Ft. Dodge, Iowa
Championship Structure: Field of 10 district champions will compete in a double-elimination tournament.
On the Web: www.njcaa.org

NJCAA Division III
When: May 15-17
Where: Inwood Softball Complex, Joliet, Ill.
Championship Structure: The eight-team national tournament features a double-elimination format. The winners of the eight district tournaments will make up the field for the tournament.
Teams are guaranteed three games. 
On the Web: www.njcaa.org

When: May 21-23
Where: Clackamas Community College, Portland, Ore.
Championship Structure:Top four teams from each division advance to double elimination tournament.
On the Web: www.nwaacc.org