facebook-button twitter_button youtube_button





Marucci Sports



USA Softball Announces Junior National Women's Team Roster

Seventeen players have been selected to the U.S. Junior Women's National Softball Team, it was announced by USA Softball. The selections were announced following a tryout camp October 3-5 at the ARCO Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista, Calif.

The team will represent the U.S. at the first Pan American Junior Women's Softball Championship, December 13-21 in Sonora, Republic of Mexico. The top five teams at the Pan American Championship earn berths in the 2003 ISF Junior Women's World Championship next summer in Nanjing, China.

Below is a list of the 17 players selected for the 2002 Junior Women's National Team:

Monica Abbott (Salinas, Calif.)
Anna Beardman (Riverside, Calif.)
Christina Boutelle (Katy, Texas)
Christina Clark (Santa Ana, Calif.)
Norelle Dickson (Orange, Calif.)
Lisa Dodd (San Diego, Calif.)
Laura Ferreira (El Sobrante, Calif.)
Kristi Fox (San Diego, Calif.)
Alicia Hollowell (Suisun, Calif.)
Lauren Lappin (Anaheim, Calif.)
Jodi Legaspi (Garden Grove, Calif.)
Mallorie Lenn (Garden Grove, Calif.)
Caitlin Lowe (Tustin, Calif.)
Linda Secka (Philadelphia, Pa.)
Stephanie Van Brakle (Chambersburg, Pa.)
Kristen Vesely (Phoenix, Ariz.)
Emily Zaplatosch (Scottsdale, Ariz.)

USA Softball also named two assistant coaches for the U.S. Junior Women's National Team. Mike Gonzalez (Mission Viejo, Calif.) and Gary Hanning (Santa Ana, Calif.) will assist head coach Pam Newton. Newton was announced as head coach prior to the tryout camp.

Go to USA Softball for the complete news release.