facebook-button twitter_button youtube_button





Marucci Sports


Cathi Aradi

Transactions: June 2002

Nevada named Matt Meuchel and Tina Ruff assistant softball coaches.

Melissa Jones was released as head coach at Pacific (Ore.).

Delaware selected Lisa Myers as an assistant coach. Myers has been an education coordinator for the New Castle (Delaware) Police Athletic League.

Trisha Dean was promoted to head coach at Saint Mary's (Calif.). Dean had served as interim head coach.

North Dakota State elevated interim head coach Darren Mueller to head coach. During the 2002 season, Mueller led the squad to the North Central Conference and NCAA Division II North Central Region championships. NDSU was selected as the 2002 Speedline/NFCA Division II North Central Region Coaching Staff of the Year.

Steve Ogg resigned as head coach at Oakland.

Kentucky Wesleyan named Rob Wimsatt as head softball coach and Patricia Wimsatt as an assistant coach.

Ron Baum was selected as an assistant coach at Albany. Baum previously served as head coach at Clarion.

Leslie Moore was named head coach at George Washington. The program is scheduled to begin competition in the spring of 2003. For the past two seasons, Moore has worked as an assistant at Lock Haven.

Missouri named Ty Singleton as head softball coach. Singleton spent the past two seasons as head coach at Northwestern State (La.) and previously served as an assistant coach at Texas. Tom Royder, an assistant under Singleton at Northwestern State, was hired as an assistant coach at Missouri.

Lipscomb named Andy Lane as head softball coach. Lane, currently Lipscomb's associate athletic director, was the first head softball coach at the school and served as head coach from 1996-99.

Megan Smith was added as an assistant at Charlotte. Smith has spent the past two years as head coach at Young Harris.

New Mexico hired Kim Newbern as head coach. Newbern, who becomes only the second head softball coach at New Mexico, spent the past six seasons at Washburn and was named the 2002 MIAA Coach of the Year.