facebook-button twitter_button youtube_button





Mizuno Home Page



NCAA Division I Selections

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division I Women's Softball Committee has selected the 48-team field that will participate in the NCAA Division I Softball Championship. Six teams will participate at each of eight regional sites in a double-elimination tournament. Eight teams will be seeded and each of the seeded teams will be placed at one of the regional sites. The regional winners advance to the Women's College World Series, an eight-team, double-elimination tournament. (Note: The championship final is a single game final.) Regionals will be conducted May 17-20 on the campuses of competing institutions.The Women's College World Series will be conducted May 24-28 at the ASA Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.

The Division I Women's Softball Committee selected teams from the following eight regions to participate in the championship: Central, East, Northeast, South, Mideast, Midwest, West and Pacific. Twenty-one conferences have been granted automatic qualification for the 2001 championship. Six conferences will participate in a play-in to determine the remaining three automatic berths.

For Regional assignments and seedings, click here.