facebook-button twitter_button youtube_button





Marucci Sports



USA Softball Announces 12 Coaches for National Team Coaching Pool

Twelve coaches were selected to form the USA Softball National Team Coaches Pool through the 2004 Olympic Games, it was announced Tuesday by the Amateur Softball Association.

All 12 coaches currently serve as collegiate head coaches -- five from the Pac-10, two each from the Big XII, Conference USA and SEC, and one from the Big West. The coaches selected for the pool are:

 COACH                           SCHOOL
Mike Candrea Arizona
Ken Eriksen South Florida
Patty Gasso Oklahoma
Michele Gromacki Cal State Fullerton
Karen Johns Florida
Eugene Lenti DePaul
Jay Miller Missouri
Pat Murphy Alabama
John Rittman Stanford
Kirk Walker Oregon State
Linda Wells Arizona State
Teresa Wilson Washington

The 12 coaches named to the pool will participate in the USA Softball National Team Camp, May 30-June 3 in Chula Vista, Calif. After the camp, the pool will be narrowed down to six coaches who will coach the two U.S. National Teams selected after the camp. The head coach for the 2004 U.S. Olympic Softball Team will eventually be chosen from among the final six coaches in the pool.

The ASA also announced that two-time Olympic gold medal-winning coach Ralph Raymond has been named as a special consultant to the USA Softball Women's National Team Program.

Click here to read bios of the 12 coaches who were selected. Click here for more information on Ralph Raymond's selection as special consultant.