facebook-button twitter_button youtube_button





Diamond Sports Home Page


Mizuno Interior

Four Teams to Vie for NPF Title

The defending National Pro Fastpitch champion Akron Racers joins the Chicago Bandits, New England Riptide and Connecticut Brakettes as the four teams that will vie for the 2006 NPF title Aug. 25-26 in Stratford, Ct. 

The Racers and Bandits enter the playoffs as familiar faces among the final four teams. The two teams met for the 2005 title, with Akron hoisting the trophy following a 5-4 win in Lisle, Ill. 

Both teams could once again vie for the title, but will face stiff semifinal challenges. Chicago, fresh off winning the league’s regular season title for the second straight year, opens the playoffs against the Riptide, while the Racers face host team and league newcomer Connecticut. 

The defending champs finished the season behind Chicago and Connecticut in the standings with a 29-17 mark. The Brakettes concluded their inaugural NPF season with a 25-14 mark, while Chicago wrapped up the 2006 regular season with a 30-12 final tally.