facebook-button twitter_button youtube_button





Fastpitch TV


Cathi Aradi

Schedule Set for 2010 ISF Women's World Championship


PLANT CITY, Fla. - The full list of 66 games that will be played at the International Softball Federation’s XII Women’s World Championship was announced today by the sport’s world governing body. Caracas, Venezuela, will host the 10n-day competition (June 23-July 2), which will consist of national teams from 16 different countries. 

The first game will feature Japan against Argentina, and Opening Ceremonies will also take place that day. Team USA comes in as the defending world champions, having defeated Japan in the gold medal game of the last edition of the event, which took place four years ago in Beijing, China. Just two years later, however, in that same stadium, Japan would avenge the 2006 loss by capturing the Olympic softball gold medal with a 3-1 victory over the Americans. The two teams are in separate pools for this year’s world championship, however, so the opportunity to go head-to-head wouldn’t come until a possible playoff matchup. 

“Without question we are certainly in store for some exciting competition at the women’s world championship,” ISF President Don Porter said. “The fans and media will witness some terrific play by elite-level athletes over those ten days in Caracas." 

To view the entire ISF release, click here

To view a PDF version of the 2010 ISF Women's World Championship schedule, click here.