facebook-button twitter_button youtube_button





Schutt Sports Home Page


Cathi Aradi

Hawaii Pacific Hits Its Way In Into DII Title Game

Game 12 
No. 3 Hawaii Pacific 7, No. 4 Metro State 2 | Box Score 

ST. JOSEPH, Mo. - The third-ranked Hawaii Pacific Sea Warriors used a tournament-high 14 hits to take down fourth-ranked Metro State, 7-2, on Sunday and advance to the title game of the 2010 NCAA Division II National Championships at Heritage Park in St. Joseph. 

In the first inning, Hawaii Pacific (49-8) got the scoring underway with a bases loaded single up the middle from pitcher Sherise Musquiz that scored junior Kozy Toriano to give the Sea Warriors an early 1-0 lead. 

In the third, Metro State surged ahead with a two-RBI single from junior Jennessa Tesone that put the Roadrunners on top 2-1. 

However, Tesone's two RBIs were the last for Metro as Hawaii Pacific went on to score six unanswered runs, with two in the fourth, one in the fifth and three in the sixth. 

The eventual game-winning plays came in the fourth inning and began when sophomore Maile Kim tied the game with a ground out to the pitcher that allowed freshman Chante Tesoro to score. 

Musquiz sealed the win for the Sea Warriors later in the inning when she singled to the short stop and drove in senior Casey Sugihara to put Hawaii Pacific on top for good. 

Musquiz finished the day by going 2-for-4 with three RBIs, while senior Ciera Senas and freshman Nicole Morrow, Caira Pires and Tesoro each turned in multi-hit performances 

After helping her own cause at the plate, Musquiz earned the win in the circle as well by allowing just two earned runs off of seven hits with four strikeouts to improve to 33-3 on the year. 

For Metro State, senior Christie Robinson took the loss after giving up 14 hits and five earned runs with one strikeout and one walk. Robinson's senior year will come to a finish with a record of 30-4 and an ERA of 1.40. 

On Monday, the Sea Warriors will take on No. 2 Valdosta State at 2 p.m. CDT for the 2010 NCAA Division II National Championship. Both teams will enter the winner-take-all contest with perfect 3-0 records in the championship tournament. 

The game, which will emanate from Heritage Park in St. Joseph, will be broadcast live on CBS College Sports.