facebook-button twitter_button youtube_button





Fastpitch TV



Arizona Rallies To Top Tennessee and Advance to WCWS Finals

2010 NCAA Division Women's College World Series - Game 13 
No. 10 Arizona 5, No. 15 Tennessee 2 | Box Score 

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. - The Arizona Wildcats rallied from two runs down to beat Tennessee, 5-2, for the second time on Sunday and advance to the championship series of the 2010 Women's College World Series at the ASA Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City. 

Tennessee (49-15) took control of the game in the first when Arizona pitcher Kenzie Fowler issued a bases loaded walk that allowed freshman Raven Chavanne to cross the plate and give the Lady Vols the early lead. 

Senior Tiffany Huff extended Tennessee's lead to 2-0 in the top of the third on a double to center field that scored freshman Lauren Gibson. 

However, in the bottom of the the third Arizona (52-12) tied the game on a two-RBI home run down the left field line that came screaming off the bat of junior Stacie Chambers. 

The go-ahead run came for the Wildcats in the fifth when freshman Brigette Del Ponte sent a ball into center field that allowed senior K'Lee Arredondo to score, giving Arizona its first lead of the game. 

In the sixth inning, the Wildcats put away any thoughts of a come back by the Lady Vols when Arredondo went yard down the right field line to score junior Lauren Shutzler and cap the scoring at 5-2. 

Fowler improved to 4-1 in the tournament and 38-7 overall with the seven inning victory. She allowed just two runs off of seven hits with eight strikeouts and five walks in the contest. 

For Tennessee, Ivy Renfroe took the loss after allowing five runs off 12 hits with six strikeouts and two walks. She will end her first year as a Lady Vol with a record of 31-6. 

The Wildcats now advance to the 2010 WCWS Championship Series where they will meet Pac-10 rival UCLA. The best-of-three series will begin on Monday night at 7 p.m. CDT. 

The meeting will mark the sixth time the two teams have played for the national championship with Arizona winning in 1991, 1993, 1997 and 2001. Meanwhile, UCLA's lone win in the series came in 1