facebook-button twitter_button youtube_button





Frozen Ropes home page


Cathi Aradi

Simpson's Christowski Inducted Into Iowa Girls Coaches Association Hall of Fame

Simpson College softball coach Henry Christowski was inducted into the Iowa Girls Coaches Association Hall of Fame Aug. 9.

Joining Christowski in the class of 1999 were Dale Schreurs (Umpire), and Don Menke of Estherville-Lincoln H.S.

In 26 years on the prep level, Christowski accumulated a 879-479 (a .677 winning percentage) record. His 879 wins are the ninth most in state history. His teams made eight state tournament appearances. During his eight-year stint (1980-96) at Dowling, the Maroons were 272-70. The Maroons won their first state championship in 1992, finishing the year with a 50-2 mark. For his efforts, he was voted district and state Coach of the Year by the Iowa Athletic Coaches Association. A follow-up appearance in the state tournament landed the Maroons a runner-up finish in 1993. Continuing his success, Christowski was named 1995 National High School Athletic Coaches Association Coach of the Year.

Prior to his stint at Dowling, Christowski coached Indianola from 1981-87 and Norwalk from 1969-80. He has coached four Iowa High School Hall of Fame pitchers (Dowling's Missy Allen, Norwalk's Kris Brogan, Jeannie Christowski, and Cindy Johnson).

Christowski was inducted into the Iowa ASA Softball Hall of Fame in October of 1998 after coaching for over 15 years in the Iowa ASA ranks and leading four teams to national tournaments. Christowski was named the 1997 Division III Coach of the Year and was led the Storm staff that was named 1999 Division III Coaching Staff of the Year. He won his 150th game as Storm coach against Loras on May 6 and entering his fifth year with the Storm, his record is 159-25-1 (an .862 winning percentage).

During his tenure, Christowski has led the Storm to two NCAA National Championships (1997, 1999), four NCAA Division III national tournament appearances (1996-99), four regional titles (1996-99), and three Iowa Conference crowns (1997-99). He is a two-time Iowa Conference Coach of the Year (1997, 1998). His 1,000th career victory was Mar. 11 against Ithaca College (8-0). His overall coaching record after 30 seasons on the diamond is 1038-504-1 (a .673 winning percentage).