facebook-button twitter_button youtube_button





Fastpitch TV


Cathi Aradi

WPSL Championship: Tampa Bay Sweeps Akron to Win 1999 WPSL Title

AKRON, Ohio - Aug. 28 Ð The Tampa Bay FireStix won their first WPSL Championship Series after edging the Akron Racers 2-1 in game two of the best-of-three series at Firestone Stadium.

The FireStix jumped out to 2-0 lead in the top of the first inning of game two. Tampa Bay third baseman Christine Parris-Washington drove in two runs with a bases loaded double after Racers starter Sarah Dawson surrendered three consecutive two-out walks. Akron cut Tampa Bay's lead to one when Crystl Bustos hit a solo home run over the right center field fence with two outs in the bottom of the fifth inning.

Monica Triner posted the victory for the FireStix walking one, and allowing one run on seven hits. Dawson absorbed the loss for the Racers. The 1997 WPF MVP and Pitcher of the Year struck out three, walked five and allowed two runs on four hits.

Akron threatened with two outs in the bottom of the seventh when Tobin Echo-Hawk singled and advanced to second on an intentional walk to Bustos. Triner, however, was able to get Traci Conrad to ground out to Parris-Washington ending the game.

Parris Washington, Ali Viola, Sara Graziano and Gina Perez each collected base hits for Tampa Bay, while Bustos went 3-for-3 with two singles, a homer and a walk for Akron.

Tampa Bay swept Akron two games to none after winning game one 3-2 on a three-run pinch-hit home run by Pat Dufficy in the bottom of the 12th inning. Dufficy was named the 1999 WPSL Championship Series Most Valuable Player after winning game one. She finished the series 1-for-1 with the game-winning three-run home run.

ESPN2 will televise the final game of the 1999 WPSL Championship Series Monday, Sept. 6 at 9:30 p.m. EDT.