facebook-button twitter_button youtube_button





Diamond Sports Home Page



NCAA Announces 60 Teams To Compete For 2011 Division III Championship

NCAAINDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - The NCAA Division III Softball Committee has announced the 60 teams that will compete in the Division III Softball Championship. 

Six teams will compete at two regional sites and eight teams will compete at six regional sites for a total of eight regional sites. All sites will use a double-elimination format. 

The six-team regional rounds will be held May 13-16 on the campuses of competing institutions. The eight-team regional rounds will be held May 12-16 on the campuses of competing institutions. The finals, hosted by the City of Salem and the Old Dominion Athletic Conference, will be held May 20-24 at the Moyer Complex in Salem, Va. 

Forty-one conferences received automatic qualification (Pool A). Two institutions were selected from Pool B, which includes independent institutions and institutions from conferences that do not meet the automatic qualification criteria. The 17 remaining teams were selected on an at-large basis from automatic qualifying conferences and the remaining institutions in Pool B. 

To view the entire release, click here

- Courtesy of the NCAA