facebook-button twitter_button youtube_button





Fastpitch TV


Cathi Aradi

Top 25 Finalists Announced for the Inaugural NFCA Division I National Freshman of the Year Award

LOUISVILLE, Ky. – The National Fastpitch Coaches Association is proud to announce the top 25 finalists for the inaugural NFCA Division I National Freshman of the Year trophy, which will be presented prior to the start of the 2014 NCAA Women’s College World Series in Oklahoma City, Okla.

With the Association always searching for innovative ways to promote the sport of softball, the NFCA Division I National Freshman of the Year award was created from an idea to honor outstanding athletic achievement among freshmen softball student-athletes throughout Division I. 

Each of this year’s 25 finalists hails from a different university while the group represents 11 Division I leagues across the nation. Both the Southeastern Conference and the Pac-12 Conference picked up the most overall selections with six each, while the Big West Conference garnered three inclusions and the Big Ten Conference and the Atlantic Coast Conference tied with two each. The American Athletic Conference, Big 12 Conference, Sun Belt Conference, Big South Conference, Atlantic Sun Conference and Conference USA all reaped one nod. 

On Thurs., May 8, the list will be trimmed down to the top 10 finalists, while the top 3 finalists will be selected and released on Thurs., May 22. The inaugural NFCA Division I National Freshman of the Year trophy will be presented during a live ceremony on May 27 prior to the opening of the annual Women's College World Series in Oklahoma City, Okla.

About the NFCA

The National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) is the professional growth organization for fastpitch softball coaches for all competitive levels of play. Founded in the early 1980s by collegiate softball coaches, today the organization also includes high school coaches, travel ball/club coaches and individuals who support the sport. Founded by coaches for coaches, the Association is built on strong values and continually instills within its members a deep sense of responsibility for developing programs that enrich the lives of all those involved. 

In addition, the Association provides educational training; encourages sportsmanship and high standards of competition; promotes the sport both nationally and internationally; identifies and pursues issues relevant to the fastpitch coaching profession and provides a forum to discuss those issues; honors excellence through awards programs for coaches and players, and keeps members informed of current coaching techniques, equipment innovations and fastpitch news.


NFCA Division I National Freshman of the Year – Top 25 Finalists

Ali Aguilar – SS/2B – Washington

Annie Aldrete – DP/C – Tennessee

Maryssa Becker – P/1B – Louisville

Megan Betsa – P – Michigan

Nickie Blue – P – South Carolina

Jessica Burroughs – P – Florida State

Kristen Clark – OF – UCSB

Kasey Cooper – 3B – Auburn

Baylee Corbello – P/UTL – LSU

Tiarra Davis – P/UTL – Texas

Tori Finucane – P – Missouri

Hannah Flippen – 2B – Utah

Taylor Glover – CF/1B – Cal State Northridge

Chelsea Gonzales – 2B/DP – Arizona State

Sara Groenewegen – P/IF – Minnesota

Haley Hayden – OF – Louisiana-Lafayette

Sierra Hyland – P/DP – Cal Poly

Milly Martinet – RF – Campbell

Katiyana Mauga – RF – Arizona

Jill Roye – 1B/DP – Tulsa

Caroline Seitz – 3B – Mississippi State

Lexi Shubert – P – USC Upstate

Kylie Sorenson – SS/3B/P – Stanford

Delaney Spaulding – SS – UCLA

Karley Wester – OF – Notre Dame