facebook-button twitter_button youtube_button





Marucci Sports



NCAA Division II Individual Award Winners Announced

Rollins College sophomore catcher Christine Roser and Teresa Erskine of Miles College have been named the Diamond Sports Catcher of the Year and adidas Golden Shoe award winners, the National Fastpitch Coaches Association announced on Friday. 

Diamond Sports Catcher of the Year 
Sophomore catcher Christine Roser of Rollins College earns first-team honors after leading the Tars in batting average (.407), runs (54), hits (70), home runs (16) and RBI (63) for the 2009 season. Roser earned a second consecutive All-Sunshine State conference first-team honor this season. She threw out four baserunners on the season and had a .996 fielding percentage on 553 chances. 

adidas Golden Shoe Award 
Teresa Erskine of Miles College led all of NCAA Division II with 56 steals in 61 attempts for an eye-popping 1.30 steals per-game average. Erskine’s 56 steals is 16 more than her next closest competitors, while her per-game average of 1.30 steals easily eclipsed the 1.09 per-game average turned in by Michelle Thompson of Livingstone. The junior outfielder hit .378 on the season with 53 runs scored, six doubles, four triples and a home run with 34 RBI. This is the second consecutive season that a Golden Bear has won the NCAA Division II adidas Golden Spikes as Kenyona Johnson from Miles was honored in 2008.