facebook-button twitter_button youtube_button





Mizuno Home Page


Wilson Sports Interior

NFCA Announces Individual Award Winners for NWAACC

 National Fastpitch Coaches Association member coaches from the Northwest Athletic Association of Community Colleges (NWAACC) have selected individual award winners for the adidas Golden Shoe award, the Diamond Sports Catcher of the Year and the Coaching Staff of the Year for the 2009 season, the NFCA announced on Monday. 

The adidas Golden Shoe award winner, presented to the top base-stealer in the NWAACC, goes to Kendall Grant of Lower Columbia College. The freshman outfielder stole 48 bases during the 2009 season. Grant turned in a .503 batting average with 52 runs scored, nine doubles, a triple and 16 RBI on the year. 

The Diamond Catcher of the Year recipient is Emily Matekel of Southwest Oregon. Matekel was named a first-team All-American last week. She hit .432 this season with 21 runs, 13 doubles, two home runs and 21 RBI. 

The Lower Columbia College coaching staff, including head coach Tim Mackin and assistant coaches Dani Terry, Brent Harris, Scott Hemberry, Mick Grendon and Ronnie Vegele, has been named the NFCA/NWAACC National Coaching Staff of the Year for the 2009 season. Mackin collected his 600th career victory during the 2009 season as the Devils advanced to the winners’ bracket semifinal of the NWACC Tournament.