facebook-button twitter_button youtube_button





Softball Coaching Bible


JUGS Sports

WCWS: Arizona State Takes Home Championship

 OKLAHOMA CITY – Arizona State pounded out 11 runs on 10 hits on Tuesday night at ASA Hall of Fame Stadium, putting an exclamation point on their dominance of the 2008 NCAA Championship Series with an 11-0 victory over Texas A&M (7 innings). 

Arizona State concludes the season with a 66-5 record and the program’s first NCAA National Championship. Texas A&M finishes the year with a record of 57-10. 

ASU got on the board in the third inning as Jessica Mapes pinch-hit and led off the inning with a single down the left field line. After a sacrifice bunt by Rhiannon Baca put Mapes on second, Katlin Cochran was walked and Jackie Vasquez punched an RBI single to left center. 

A&M threatened in the fourth inning as Natalie Villarreal led off the inning with a single to right field. After Megan Gibson drew a walk, Erin Glasco grounded out for the second out of the inning, putting runners on second and third with two outs, but the Aggies were unable to capitalize, leaving ASU in the lead by a 1-0 margin after four complete innings. 

In the top of the fifth, Mandy Urfer led off the inning when she reached on a fielding error, and after a Baca single, the pair came home on the 14th home run of the season by Kaitlin Cochran to give the Sun Devils a 4-0 lead. 

Megan Gibson pitched six good innings for the Aggies before a catastrophic seventh led to seven runs on six hits, including a three-run home run by second baseman Mindy Cowles. Gibson finishes the year with a 41-4 record. 

Once again, Katie Burkhart was impressive in the circle for the Sun Devils. She struck out 13 in the championship game, walking one and scattering four hits. She finishes the season with a 41-5 record and Most Outstanding Player honors at the WCWS. 

Joining Burkhart on the All-Tournament team are the following players 

2008 NCAA Women’s College World Series All-Tournament Team 
Francesca Enea, Florida 
Charlotte Morgan, Alabama 
Stacey Nelson, Florida 
Holly Tankersley, Louisiana-Lafayette 
Angela Tincher, Virginia Tech 
Megan Gibson, Texas A&M 
Jami Lobpries, Texas A&M 
Kaitlin Cochran, Arizona State 
Krista Donnenwirth, Arizona State 
Lesley Rogers, Arizona State 
Jackie Vasquez, Arizona State 

Most Outstanding Player: Katie Burkhart, Arizona State