NFCA, Schutt Sports, Schutt Sports/nfca dii player of the Year, schutt sport/nfca dii pitcher of the year, Morgan Perry

LOUISVILLE, Ky. – West Texas A&M graduate student Shanna McBroom was named the 2021 Schutt Sports / NFCA Division II Player of the Year and Saint Anselm senior Morgan Perry earned the Schutt Sport / NFCA Pitcher of the Year honor, the Association announced on Thursday.

McBroom was a catalyst for the Lady Buffs’ run to a 2021 DII national championship. The first-team All-America catcher started every game behind the plate for WT and had a career year offensively. McBroom, who captured the Diamond Sports/NFCA Catcher of the Year, hit a career best .426 with 80 hits, 13 doubles, seven home runs, 37 RBI and a .691 slugging percentage. 

From the leadoff spot, McBroom, the first Player or Pitcher of the Year from the Lone Star Conference and South Central Region, topped the team and the NCAA with 71 runs scored, eight triples and 35 stolen bases to go along with a .478 on-base percentage. Additionally, her 80 hits ranked second in the NCAA behind teammate Ruby Salzman and the 35 stolen bases are one more than McBroom recorded in her career entering 2021. 

Perry, a 2021 NFCA First-Team All-American, was pivotal leading the Hawks to an NCAA East Region title and their second appearance at the DII National Championship in three seasons. The right-handed hurler finished the 2021 campaign 20-3 with a 1.01 ERA, 12 shutouts and 222 strikeouts to just 38 walks over 138.2 innings of work. In 23 appearances, she held her opposition to a .164 batting average and surrendered just six home runs in 550 plate appearances. 

Perry ranked in the top-10 nationally in severally categories, including strikeouts per seven innings (4th / 11.2), shutouts (t-4th), strikeouts (6th), fewest hits allowed per seven innings (6th / 4.04) and ERA (10th). The Bethany, Conn. native was also named the D2CCA Ron Lenz Pitcher of the Year and is the program’s career leader in innings, strikeouts, wins, appearances, games started, complete games and shutouts. 

The award, voted on by the NFCA DII All-America Committee, was created in 2015 to honor the outstanding athletic achievements among softball student-athletes throughout NCAA Division II. In 2019, the Association expanded the award to include a Player and Pitcher of the Year. To be eligible, student-athletes must be nominated by their member head coach. 

Past winners of the award are LIU Post’s Julia Seader* (Player / 2019), Grand Valley State’s Allison Lipovsky* (Pitcher / 2019), North Georgia’s Kylee Smith (2018), Minnesota State’s Coley Ries (2017), Wayne State University’s Lindsay Butler (2016) and North Georgia’s Courtney Poole (2015). The award was not presented in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

*The NFCA began awarding a Player and Pitcher of the Year in 2019. 

Keep Your Coaching Pitch Perfect.

kris caldwell, edward jones, nfca official sponsor, financial advisor, nfca cell wade, nfca partner, nfca maxpreps, max preps, nfca partner, nfca Stack Sports, nfca partner, nfca bownet, nfca partner, nfca

For Those Who Know Even
Days Off Are Days On.

Learn About The Perks And Join NFCA Today.

Benefits Join Today