LOUISVILLE, Ky. – Fifty student-athletes from across the country have been selected to the “Watch List” for the 2019 Schutt Sports / NFCA Division II National Player of the Year award.

Headlining the list are 29 returning NFCA All-Americans, including 2019 Schutt Sports / NFCA Player of the Year Kylee Smith (pictured - courtesy of UNG Athletics) of North Georgia. Eight return from the first team, 10 are from the second and 10 were third teamers. 

In all, the group consists of 19 seniors, 21 juniors and 10 sophomores, representing 44 programs from 21 different conferences. Freshmen are not eligible for the “Watch List”, but can be considered for the Player of the Year award once they have competed at the collegiate level. 

Six programs garnered multiple candidates with Chico State, Tarleton State University, UC San Diego, University of Alabama in Huntsville, University of North Georgia and Winona State University all earning two nods.

The California Collegiate Athletic Association led the way with five honorees. The Peach Belt Conference, Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference and Lone Star Conference paced the way with four, while the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference, Great Lakes Valley Conference, Gulf South Conference, Sunshine State Conference and Great Midwest Athletic Conference each had three selections.

The Top 25 finalists for the 2019 Schutt Sports / NFCA Division II National Player of the Year award will be announced on April 25. A student-athlete does not have to be on the watch list to be considered for the Top 25. The top 10 finalists will be announced on May 14 and the winner will be recognized on May 30 following the conclusion of the 2019 season.

The previous honorees of the award are Courtney Poole, North Georgia (2015), Lyndsay Butler, Wayne State University (2016), Coley Ries, Minnesota State (2017) and Smith.

Behind the collaboration between the NFCA and the NCAA Division II Head Coaches Committee, and the generosity of Schutt Sports, the award was created in 2015 to honor the outstanding athletic achievement among softball student-athletes throughout Division II.


2019 Schutt Sports / NFCA Division II Player of the Year Watch List

*Denotes returning NFCA All-American

Kiara Akles, So., University of Alabama in Huntsville

Kaitlyn Beers, Jr., Indiana University of Pennsylvania

Georgia Capell, So., Tarleton State University *

Kayla Cato, Sr., Claflin University

Meredith Daunhauer, Sr., Kentucky Wesleyan College

Stephanie Day, Jr., Colorado Christian University *

Makaleigh Dooley, Sr., University of Tampa *

Abbey Fortin, Jr., Long Island University Post *

Bri Garber, Jr., West Chester University of Pennsylvania

Shelby Hammontree, Jr., University of North Georgia

Alaina Hampton, So., University of Alabama in Huntsville

Sherriah Harrington, So., University of California, San Diego *

Emily Harris, So., Young Harris College *

Cambrie Hazel, So., Dixie State University *

Kinsie Hebler, Jr., Texas A&M University-Commerce *

Hanna Holland, Sr., Humboldt State University

Tanna Huie, Sr., Tarleton State University 

Kacie Kelly, Jr., Saint Leo University

Katie Kish, Sr., Hillsdale College *

Jordyn Kleman, Jr., Winona State University *

Taegan Kirk, Sr., Angelo State University *

Brooke Larsen, So., California State University, Chico *

Clara Larson, Jr., Colorado School of Mines *

Jennifer Leonhardt, Jr., University of Southern Indiana *

Allison Lipovsky, Sr., Grand Valley State University *

Ashley Mickschl, So., Augustana University *

Kylee Moore, Sr., West Texas A&M University *

Taylor Moran, Jr., Lee University *

Callie Nunes, So., Concordia University Irvine *

Makray Odom Jr., Trevecca Nazarene University *

Austine Pauley, Jr., Lindenwood University

Elizabeth Perdue, Sr., Columbus State University

Samantha Reilly, Sr., Georgian Court University *

Christa Reisinger, Sr., Truman State University *

Lacie Rinus, Jr., Carson-Newman University *

Rebekah Slattery, Sr., Lock Haven University

Kylie Smith, Jr., University of North Georgia *

Tylia Sylestine, Sr., Texas Woman’s University

Victoria Taylor, Jr., Southern Arkansas University *

Mallory Teunissen, Sr., Davenport University

AnnMarie Torres, Jr., Colorado Mesa University *

Suka Van Gurp, Sr., Nova Southeastern University *

Lani Van Zyl, Sr., Winona State University *

Lakyn Wagoner, Jr., University of Illinois at Springfield

Robyn Wampler, So., University of California, San Diego

Maria Williamson, Sr., Coker College *

Kaitlyn Weis, Jr., Northwest Missouri State University *

Ryanne Whitaker, Sr., Western Oregon University

Jenna Witt, Jr., Concord University *

Kristen Worley, Jr., California State University, Chico

Keep Your Coaching Pitch Perfect.

cell wade, nfca partner, nfca bownet, nfca partner, nfca maxpreps, max preps, nfca partner, nfca

For Those Who Know Even
Days Off Are Days On.

Learn About The Perks And Join NFCA Today.

Benefits Join Today