LOUISVILLE, Ky. — The NFCA is pleased to announce that Illinois Wesleyan University junior right-hander Ally Wiegand has been chosen as the inaugural 2019 Schutt Sports/NFCA Division III National Pitcher of the Year.

Wiegand, who led the nation in earned-run average (0.50), fewest hits allowed per game (3.06), and strikeout-to-walk ratio (32.5) this season, earned her second-straight NFCA All-America and All-Region selections earlier this month. She also earned 2019 College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin Pitcher of the Year honors and her second-straight All-CCIW selection.

Among very impressive numbers, her most impressive statistic this season was probably her strikeout-to-walk ratio. She struck out 260 batters and walked only eight, which means for every walk she allowed, she struck out 32.5 batters. That number nearly twice the ratio of the next person in the NCAA Division III rankings.

For the season, Wiegand was 23-4 with 10 shutouts, four saves, just 81 hits and 13 earned runs allowed over 183 innings in the circle. She limited opposing batters to a .132 batting average.

Wiegand ranked third in Division III in walks allowed per seven innings (0.31), fourth in strikeouts, tied for fourth in victories, was fifth in strikeouts per seven innings (9.9) and tied for fifth in shutouts.

She helped lead the Titans to their fourth consecutive NCAA championship finals last week in Tyler, Texas, by winning two games to earn Most Outstanding Pitcher honors in their NCAA super regional victory over Carthage. Prior to that, Wiegand was the Most Outstanding Player of the NCAA regional they hosted on their home field.

This season, the Schutt Sports/NFCA Player of the Year award, which has been presented since 2016, was split into two honors, to allow recognition of a player and a pitcher in the NFCA’s member divisions. Both honorees are chosen from a list of 10 finalists announced just before the NCAA championship finals.

The other nine finalists for the Schutt Sports/NFCA Player and Pitcher of the Year awards were Kierstin Anderson-Glass of the University of St. Thomas (Minn.), Mackenzie Chitwood of the University of Lynchburg, Alix DeDreu of Thomas More University, Ally Fox of Marian University (Wis.), Carthage College’s Stefanie Guercio, Hanna Hull of Virginia Wesleyan University, the University of Texas at Dallas’ Melissa Livermore, Patty Maye Ohanian of Christopher Newport University, and Vada Blue Sherrill of Pfeiffer University.

The Schutt Sports/NFCA Division III National Player and Pitcher of the Year award recipients are selected by NFCA’s All-American Committee, which includes a representative from each of the eight NCAA Division III regions.

Schutt Sports/NFCA Division III National Pitcher of the Year winners

2019 — Ally Wiegand, Illinois Wesleyan University

Schutt Sports/NFCA Division III National Player of the Year winners

2019 — Mackenzie Chitwood, 1B, University of Lynchburg

2018 — Hanna Hull, P, Virginia Wesleyan University

2017 — Hanna Hull, P, Virginia Wesleyan University

2016 — Kelsie Batten, P, University of Texas at Tyler

Keep Your Coaching Pitch Perfect.

cell wade, nfca partner, nfca bownet, nfca partner, nfca Stack Sports, nfca partner, nfca maxpreps, max preps, nfca partner, nfca

For Those Who Know Even
Days Off Are Days On.

Learn About The Perks And Join NFCA Today.

Benefits Join Today