Arizona StateINDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - Arizona State was named the No. 1 seed in the NCAA Division I Softball Championship Sunday when the NCAA Division I Softball Committee announced the 64-team field. The Sun Devils, champions of the Pacific-10 Conference, own a 50-6 record and will play North Dakota State, an automatic qualifier from the Summit League, on May 20 in front of a home crowd in Tempe, Ariz. 

Thirty conferences were awarded automatic qualification, and the remaining 34 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the bracket. The top 16 teams were seeded nationally and will play at campus sites this weekend. 

Team pairings were determined by geographical proximity, with the exception that teams from the same conference were not paired during regional competition, when possible. 

The Big 12 Conference led all conferences with eight teams in the championship. The Southeastern Conference and Pac-10 placed seven in the championship while five teams from Conference USA were selected. 

Fresno State remains the only team to be selected to all 30 championships. Four teams are making their initial appearances in the tournament: Jackson State, Jacksonville, Memphis and New Mexico State. 

Only 10 schools have been crowned the NCAA Division I softball champion since the tournament started in 1982, and nine are in this year’s bracket. 

To view the entire release, click herehere

- Courtesy of the NCAA

Keep Your Coaching Pitch Perfect.

bownet, nfca partner, nfca cell wade, nfca partner, nfca maxpreps, max preps, nfca partner, nfca

For Those Who Know Even
Days Off Are Days On.

Learn About The Perks And Join NFCA Today.

Benefits Join Today