Eight regional sites have been selected for the 2003 NCAA Division I Softball Championship and were announced Monday by the NCAA Division I Softball Committee.

Each regional will feature eight teams, playing a double-elimination format. All regional games are scheduled for May 15-18. Site selections were based on geographic location, quality of facilities and quality of experience for the student-athletes, including attendance history. Host institutions are not guaranteed a bid to the tournament.

Twenty-six Division I conferences receive an automatic berth into the field of 64, along with 38 at-large selections. This is the first year that the field has been expanded to 64 teams, and also marks the first time that regional sites have been named in advance of the team selection.

The at-large teams, top eight national seeds and first round pairings will be announced Sunday, May 11 at 10 p.m. EST live on ESPNEWS.

Below is the eight regional sites, along with host institutions.

Stadium Site Host
UA Softball Complex Tuscaloosa, Ala. University of Alabama
Hillenbrand Stadium Tucson, Ariz. University of Arizona
Titan Softball Complex Fullerton, Calif. California State University, Fullerton
Florida Softball Stadium Gainesville, Fla. University of Florida
Bulldog Diamond Fresno, Calif. Fresno State University
Alumni Field Ann Arbor, Mich. University of Michigan
Bowlin Stadium Lincoln, Neb. University of Nebraska
McCombs Field Austin, Texas University of Texas

Keep Your Coaching Pitch Perfect.

bownet, nfca partner, nfca Stack Sports, nfca partner, nfca cell wade, nfca partner, nfca maxpreps, max preps, nfca partner, nfca

For Those Who Know Even
Days Off Are Days On.

Learn About The Perks And Join NFCA Today.

Benefits Join Today