COLUMBUS, Ga. – The Illinois Fighting Illini earned a hard-fought 7-4 win over Arkansas in its final game of the 2010 NFCA Division I Leadoff Classic in Columbus, clinching the event championship for the first time in program history. 

Both Illinois and No. 6 Missouri finished the classic with perfect 5-0 records, but Illinois won the title via a tie-breaker of run differential between common opponents. Both teams picked up five-run wins over Virginia Tech, however Missouri clipped Radford by just one run while Illinois took down the Highlanders 10-0. 

No. 9 Alabama entered Sunday with an unblemished record but was upset by Central Florida, 3-2, in its weekend finale. 

Georgia Tech senior Jen Yee went 9-for-18 with 11 RBIs and five home runs over five games to earn Most Valuable Player honors, while Missouri sophomore Chelsea Thomas went 3-0 against No. 4 Michigan, No. 20 Massachusetts and Radford with 16 strikeouts to be named Most Valuable Pitcher. The entire 2010 NFCA Division I Leadoff Classic tournament team can be viewed below. 

Full tournament stats, recaps, and box scores can be found here

2010 NFCA Division I Leadoff Classic All-Tournament Team 

Most Valuable Player – 2B Jen Yee – Georgia Tech 
Most Valuable Pitcher – RHP Chelsea Thomas – Missouri 

All-Tournament Selections 
RHP/3B Kristen Adkins – Georgia Tech 
3B/SS Nichole Beall – Radford 
C Chelsea Bramlett – Mississippi St. 
IF Kayla Braud – Alabama 
SS/UTIL Marisha Branson – Maryland 
1B Gabriele Bridges – La.-Lafayette 
IF Jessica Davis – Illinois 
RHP Sarah Hamilton – Florida St. 
IF Abby Olson – Illinois St. 
RHP Sara Plourde – Massachusetts 
IF Sandra Smith – Arkansas 
IF Kelley Wedel – Illinois 

Keep Your Coaching Pitch Perfect.

maxpreps, max preps, nfca partner, nfca bownet, nfca partner, nfca cell wade, nfca partner, nfca

For Those Who Know Even
Days Off Are Days On.

Learn About The Perks And Join NFCA Today.

Benefits Join Today