USA SoftballOKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. – The Amateur Softball Association (ASA) of America announced today the Top 25 Finalists for the 2011 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year, which will be announced at the opening of the 2011 NCAA Women’s College World Series in Oklahoma City. This award, which is considered the most prestigious honor in Division I women’s collegiate softball, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country. In its 10th year, past winners of this award include UCLA’s Stacey Nuveman, Florida State’s Jessica Van der Linden, three-time winner Texas pitcher Cat Osterman, Tennessee’s Monica Abbott, Virginia Tech’s Angela Tincher and two-time winner Washington’s Danielle Lawrie. 

The Top 25 list represents 17 schools and six different NCAA Division I Conferences. The list is comprised of nine seniors, six juniors, nine sophomores and one freshman. The 2011 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year will be chosen from the 25 finalists. 

2011 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Top 25 Finalists
Name (School) – Year – Position – Hometown 
*Emily Allard (Northwestern) – Sophomore – Infield/Outfield – Antioch, Calif. 
*Lexy Bennett (Texas) – Junior – Infield – Kingwood, Texas 
Katelyn Boyd (Arizona State) – Junior – Infield – Phoenix, Ariz. 
Kayla Braud (Alabama) – Sophomore – Infield – Eugene, Ore. 
Stephanie Brombacher (Florida) – Senior – Pitcher – Pembroke Pines, Fla. 
*Megan Bush (Florida) – Senior – Utility – Anaheim Hills, Calif. 
Raven Chavanne (Tennessee) – Sophomore – Outfield – Thousand Oaks, Calif. 
*Kat Dotson (Tennessee) – Sophomore – Outfield – Savannah, Ga. 
Kelsi Dunne (Alabama) – Senior – Pitcher – Port Orange, Fla. 
*Taylor Edwards (Nebraska) – Freshman – Catcher – Murietta, Calif. 
Kenzie Fowler (Arizona) – Sophomore – Pitcher – Tucson, Ariz. 
Alisa Goler (Georgia) – Senior – Infield – Frankfort, Ill. 
Ashley Hansen (Stanford) – Junior – Infield – Chandler, Ariz. 
Andrea Harrison (UCLA) – Junior – Outfield – Garden Grove, Calif. 
Brittany Lastrapes (Arizona) – Senior – Outfield - Laguna Niguel, Calif. 
Blaire Luna (Texas ) – Sophomore – Pitcher – Austin, Texas 
*Christi Orgeron (ULL) – Junior – Utility – New Orleans, La. 
Toni Paisley (East Carolina) – Senior – Pitcher/Utility – Lakewood, Calif. 
Keilani Ricketts (Oklahoma) – Sophomore - Pitcher – San Jose, Calif. 
Jenn Salling (Washington) – Senior – Infield – Port Coquitlam, B.C., Canada 
Dorian Shaw (Michigan) – Senior – Infield – Burke, Va. 
Jessica Shults (Oklahoma) – Sophomore – Catcher – Valencia, Calif. 
Jordan Taylor (Michigan) – Senior – Pitcher – Valencia, Calif. 
*Chelsea Thomas (Missouri) – RS-Sophomore – Pitcher – Pleasantville, Iowa 
Niki Williams (Washington) – Junior – Outfield – Mission Viejo, Calif. 
*Was not on Top 50 Watch list

Just days before the start of post-season play, a list of 10 finalists will be named and released on May 11. The three finalists will be announced May 25 while the winner of the 2011 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award will be announced on May 31 prior to the start of the 2011 NCAA Women’s College World Series in Oklahoma City. 

- Courtesy of USA Softball

Keep Your Coaching Pitch Perfect.

bownet, nfca partner, nfca cell wade, nfca partner, nfca maxpreps, max preps, nfca partner, nfca

For Those Who Know Even
Days Off Are Days On.

Learn About The Perks And Join NFCA Today.

Benefits Join Today