LOUISVILLE, Ky. – The National Fastpitch Coaches Association has announced the top-10 finalists for the NFCA Division I National Freshman of the Year award, which will be presented prior to the start of the 2015 NCAA Women’s College World Series in Oklahoma City, Okla.

 The ten finalists all hail from different universities and represent seven conferences. The Southeastern Conference leads the way with three selections and the Pac-12 has two representatives. The Big 12, Sun Belt, Colonial Athletic Association (CAA), Southland and Big Ten each have one honoree.

Of the 10, four have been named their respective conference’s Freshman of the Year- Megan Good of James Madison (CAA), Alexis Osorio of Alabama (SEC), Georgia State’s Ivie Drake (Sun Belt) and McNeese State’s Erika Piancastelli (Southland). In addition, Piancastelli was named Southland Player and Hitter of the Year, and Good took home CAA Pitcher of the Year honors. The Big 12 and Pac-12 have not announced their awards.

On Wednesday, May 20, the top 3 finalists will be announced. In its second year, the NFCA Division I National Freshman of the Year trophy will be presented during a live ceremony on Tuesday, May 26 prior to the opening of the annual Women’s College World Series in Oklahoma City.

In the first year of the award, Tennessee’s Annie Aldrete and Auburn’s Kasey Cooper were named co-recipients.

Keep Your Coaching Pitch Perfect.

cell wade, nfca partner, nfca maxpreps, max preps, nfca partner, nfca bownet, nfca partner, nfca

For Those Who Know Even
Days Off Are Days On.

Learn About The Perks And Join NFCA Today.

Benefits Join Today