KANSAS CITY, Mo. – (Bracket)Bracket) The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced the official seeds and bracket for the 2016 NAIA Softball World Series, presented by Security National Bank & Morningside College (Iowa). The 10-team, double-elimination event takes place from May 27 – June 2 at the Elizabeth & Irving Jensen Softball Complex in Sioux City, Iowa. The City of Sioux City and Morningside College serve as official hosts for the second-straight year.


Two-time defending national champion Auburn Montgomery (Ala.) claims the No. 2 seed in the World Series and will face the winner of No. 7 seed and host school Morningside (Iowa) (47-8) and No. 10 Webber International (Fla.) (30-14) Saturday, May 28 at 4 p.m. CDT. The Warhawks carry a 13-6 postseason record into their fifth World Series.

The Warhawks (51-6) are the only repeat qualifier from the 2015 event.

Top seed Oklahoma City (61-2), who awaits the winner of the No. 8 Marian (Ind.) (47-10) / No. 9 Williams Baptist (Ark.) (38-19) match-up on May 28 at 7 p.m., boasts a few NAIA World Series records, including most titles (8), most victories (114) and most appearances (29th). The Stars will be appearing in their 24th World Series in the last 25 years. Oklahoma City won its third National Championship Opening Round in the last four years with a 10-2 triumph over Houston-Victoria (Texas) today.

Besides Oklahoma City, the other nine participants will be competing in their seventh-or-less World Series. No. 4 Saint Xavier (Ill.) (43-8-1) and No. 3 St. Gregory’s (Okla.) (46-5) each are playing in their seventh event.

No. 6 Southeastern (Fla.) (42-14) is the lone newcomer in the 10-team field. The Fire were the top seed in the Davenport (Mich.) Opening Round Bracket and rattled off three-straight wins to punch their first-ever World Series ticket. Southeastern is competing in just its fourth year as a softball program.

Amongst teams who have previously qualified, Marian is snapping the longest World Series drought, with its last appearance back in 2003.

St. Gregory’s currently owns the longest NAIA active season-winning streak with 13-straight victories. The Cavaliers went 3-0 to win the St. Gregory’s Opening Round Bracket. Morningside is next in line as the Mustangs sport an eight-game streak.

The other team in the pool is No. 10 Simpson (Calif.), who qualified after winning the Simpson Opening Round Bracket. With a 43-5 overall record, the Red Hawks won the California Pacific Conference regular-season title.

Eight conferences are represented in the 2016 World Series, led by two programs each from the Sooner Athletic Conference – Oklahoma City and St. Gregory’s – and The Sun Conference – Southeastern and Webber International. The Warriors became the first No. 4 seed in the Opening Round to capture the championship after a 7-4 defeat of host and top seed William Carey (Miss.). Webber International (30-14) is playing in its first World Series since 2012 and fourth overall.

There will up to 19 games played during a seven-day span on one championship stadium field. There are four games on each of the first three days (May 29 is off day), three contests on May 31, two games on June 1 and the championship final on June 2.

The qualifiers are comprised of 10 NAIA National Championship Opening Round champions, which were completed today. To see those champions, click herehere.

Stretch Internet, the NAIA’s official video-streaming company of NAIA national championship events, will be broadcasting all 19 games of the 2016 NAIA Softball World Series. The All-World Series package can be purchased for $29.95 or the day package for $9.95. For more information, including how to register for an account, click herehere.

For more information on the 2016 NAIA Softball World Series, click herehere.

--- Courtesy of the NAIA

Seed School Name World Series Qualification Overall Record^ WS Appearances* WS Record Last WS Appearance WS Titles
2 Auburn Montgomery (Ala.) Auburn Montgomery Bracket Champion 51-6 5th 13-6 2015 2
8 Marian (Ind.) Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) Bracket Champion 47-10 2nd 0-2 2003 --
7 Morningside (Iowa) Morningside Bracket Champion 47-8 6th 4-11 2012 --
1 Oklahoma City Oklahoma City Bracket Champion 61-2 29th 114-44 2014 8
4 Saint Xavier (Ill.) Georgia Gwinnett Bracket Champion 43-8-1 7th 9-11 2013 --
5 Simpson (Calif.) Simpson Bracket Champion 43-5 3rd 2-3 2014 --
6 Southeastern (Fla.) Davenport (Mich.) Bracket Champion 42-14 1st -- -- --
3 St. Gregory's (Okla.) St. Gregory's Champion 46-5 7th 18-14 2014 --
10 Webber International (Fla.) Reinhardt (Ga.) Champion 30-14 4th 3-6 2012 --
9 Williams Baptist (Ark.) LSU Alexandria (La.) Bracket Champion 38-19 3rd 4-3 2013 --

Keep Your Coaching Pitch Perfect.

bownet, nfca partner, nfca maxpreps, max preps, nfca partner, nfca cell wade, nfca partner, nfca

For Those Who Know Even
Days Off Are Days On.

Learn About The Perks And Join NFCA Today.

Benefits Join Today