nfca dii player of the year, nfca dii pitcher of the year, 2022 schutt sports/nfca dii pitcher of the year, 2022 schutt sports/nfca dii player of the year, nfca, schutt sports, Andrea Morales, Kayson Boatner

LOUISVILLE, Ky. –  Kayson Boatner of Anderson University and Andrea Morales of Rogers State University captured the 2022 Schutt Sports/NFCA DII Player and Pitcher of the Year awards, respectively. 

Boatner, a first-team NFCA All-American, had a monstrous senior season for the Trojans. The power-hitting first baseman finished 2022 batting .445 with 21 doubles, a triple and 23 home runs. She finished with the second-best slugging percentage in NCAA Division II at 1.006,  one of two players over the 1.000 mark. Boatner topped the NCAA in home runs per game (0.46), tied for the second highest long ball total and ranked tied for seventh in doubles.

The 2022 South Atlantic Conference (SAC) Player of the Year and Anderson University Female Student-Athlete of the Year keyed Anderson to a No. 1 overall seed in the NCAA DII Southeast Regional and an SAC regular-season title. She earned a multitude of postseason honors, which included NFCA All-Region First Team, D2CCA All-Region First Team, D2CCA Region Player of the Year, NFCA Top 50 and 25 Player of the Year Watch Lists and SAC All-Conference First Team.

Morales, voted unanimously by the NFCA DII All-American Committee, capped off her final campaign in style, playing a pivotal role in the Hillcats’ run to their first NCAA Division II national championship. Morales earned first-team NFCA All-America honors, a first in RSU program history, and was named Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association (MIAA) Pitcher of the Year. The graduate hurler finished the campaign with an NCAA-best 38 victories (38-4) and the third highest strikeout total with 348. Morales posted a 1.20 ERA, 0.78 WHIP and 8:1 strikeout to walk ratio, while holding her opponents to a .178 batting average in 280.1 innings of work.

Morales was one of only two active pitchers at all levels of the NCAA (Division I, II, III), joined by USF’s Georgina Corrick, with over 110 career wins (115-34) and 1,000 career strikeouts (1,040). The El Paso, Texas native is only the 17th Division II pitcher ever to accomplish this feat. 

The Player of the Year award was created in 2015 to honor the outstanding athletic achievements among softball student-athletes throughout NCAA Division II. In 2019, the Association expanded the award to include a Player and Pitcher of the Year. 

The awards are voted on by the elected members of the NFCA Division II All-American Committee with one head coach representing each of the eight NCAA regions. To be eligible, a student-athlete’s head coach must be a member.

Player & Pitcher of the Year Winners

2022 – Kayson Boatner, Anderson (Player) / Andrea Morales, Rogers State (Pitcher)

2021 – Shanna McBroom, West Texas A&M (Player) / Morgan Perry, Saint Anselm (Pitcher)

2019 – Julia Seader, LIU Post (Player) / Allison Lipovsky, Grand Valley State (Pitcher)

2018 – Kylee Smith, North Georgia

2017 – Coley Ries, Minnesota State

2016 – Lindsay Butler, Wayne State University

2015 – Courtney Poole, North Georgia

The awards were not presented in 2020 due to CoVID-19 pandemic

The NFCA began awarding a Player and Pitcher of the Year in 2019. 

The NFCA (National Fastpitch Coaches Association) is the professional organization for fastpitch softball coaches. Known for its highly-regarded student-athlete awards, the NFCA also educates and supports softball coaches on a variety of different levels: from webinars to legal counsel, to in-person events and the National Convention

Learn more about the NFCA and consider joining nearly 6,000 coaches today!

Keep Your Coaching Pitch Perfect.

bownet, nfca partner, nfca maxpreps, max preps, nfca partner, nfca Stack Sports, nfca partner, nfca kris caldwell, edward jones, nfca official sponsor, financial advisor, nfca cell wade, nfca partner, nfca

For Those Who Know Even
Days Off Are Days On.

Learn About The Perks And Join NFCA Today.

Benefits Join Today