The Amateur Softball Association announced today the 25 finalists for the 2007 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award. 

The award, which is considered one of the most prestigious honors in women's collegiate softball, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country. 

The Top 25 is comprised of players representing 17 colleges and six different NCAA Division I Conferences. Among the list are 12 seniors, seven juniors, five sophomores and a red-shirt freshman. Five of the finalists were among the Top 25 finalists in 2006, including Tennessee’s Monica Abbott, Arizona’s Caitlin Lowe and Virginia Tech’s Angela Tincher who were also top 10 finalists last year. 

The Top 25 finalists for the 2007 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award, listed in alphabetical order, are: 

Monica Abbott; Tennessee; Salinas, Calif.; Senior; Pitcher 
Katie Burkhart; Arizona State; San Luis Obispo, Calif.; Junior; Pitcher 
Kaitlin Cochran; Arizona State; Yorba Linda, Calif.; Sophomore; Outfield 
Garland Cooper; Northwestern; Mission Viejo, Calif.; Senior; First Base 
Bianca Cruz; Arizona State; Surprise, Ariz.; Senior; Third Base 
Norrelle Dickson; Oklahoma; Orange, Calif.; Senior; Third Base 
Kristie Fox; Arizona; San Diego, Calif.; Senior; Shortstop 
Megan Gibson; Texas A&M; Spring, Texas; Junior; RHP/1B 
Leslie Klein; LSU; Sunrise, Fla.; Senior; Outfield 
Danielle Lawrie; Washington; Langley, B.C.; Sophomore; Pitcher 
Caitlin Lever; Georgia Tech; Amherst, N.Y.; Senior; Outfield 
Caitlin Lowe; Arizona; Tustin, Calif.; Senior; Outfield 
Brooke Marnitz; Kentucky; Lexington, Ken.; Senior; Shortstop 
Ashley Monceaux; Baylor; Tucson, Ariz.; Senior; Infield 
Chrissy Owens; Alabama; Miami, Fla.; Junior; Pitcher 
Lauren Parker; Alabama; Port Neches, Texas; Sophomore; Infield 
Amanda Renth; Missouri; Mascoutah, Ill.; Junior; Infield 
Samantha Ricketts; Oklahoma; San Jose, Calif.; Sophomore; First Base 
Jenn Salling; Oregon; Port Coquitlam, B.C.; (RS)Freshman; Shortstop 
Amanda Scarborough; Texas A&M; Magnolia, Texas; Junior; RHP/1B 
Lindsay Schutzler; Tennessee; Monterey, Calif.; Senior; Outfield 
Holly Tankersley; La.-Lafayette; Kirbyville, Texas; Junior; DP/Outfield 
Angela Tincher; Virginia Tech; Eagle Rock, VA; Junior; Pitcher 
Courtney Totte; Oklahoma State; Lawton, Okla.; Senior; Catcher 
Tammy Williams; Northwestern; Roscoe, Mo.; Sophomore; Shortstop 

On May 9, just days before the start of post-season play, a list of 10 finalists will be named. On May 23 the list will be cut to three and those final three players will travel to Oklahoma City for the announcement of the winner at the 2007 NCAA Women's College World Series. 

Keep Your Coaching Pitch Perfect.

bownet, nfca partner, nfca cell wade, nfca partner, nfca kris caldwell, edward jones, nfca official sponsor, financial advisor, nfca maxpreps, max preps, nfca partner, nfca

For Those Who Know Even
Days Off Are Days On.

Learn About The Perks And Join NFCA Today.

Benefits Join Today